logolinksrand Hamburg City Freelancer Server Foren-Übersicht
Players:2/64    *Mod here*
Server Load:0 msec 
Deaths per Minute:0
logorechts  
  SERVERIP : 78.46.109.124:2302


 
  Portal  •  Forum-FAQ  •   Suchen  •  Registrieren  •  Einloggen, um private Nachrichten zu lesen  •  Login  
  Donation/Spenden  •   Donation List  •   Clan Statistik  •   HC Forum Rangsystem Info  •   Player Rankings  •   HC Universum Map  •   Banned Players  •   Bug Tracker  
/

   
 Freelancer Portable Nächstes Thema anzeigen
Vorheriges Thema anzeigen
Neues Thema eröffnenNeue Antwort erstellen
Autor Nachricht
Draccoz







Beiträge: 41

Beitrag Titel: Freelancer Portable
Verfasst am: 19.05.09 22:07
Antworten mit ZitatNach oben

Hello everybody. I've been wondering if it is possible to have some kind of portable Freelancer. I mean, have it copied for example on pendrive and launch it on any machine you want. I understand that ID is kept in registry, but that is not a hard issue, for that I could write (and publish if anybody would want it) a program to write ID's to the registry when launching freelancer, and erase them when shutting the game down. My question is if Freelancer uses something essential out of game instal directory. There were some files in my documents/my games/freelancer, did anybody tried to play without them? If it is not possible then could they be somehow skipped or placed in other directory?
Cheers,
Dracco
Draccoz is offline Benutzer-Profile anzeigenPrivate Nachricht senden
Syd
Rear Admiral


financial_expert_silber time_bandit_gold basefinder_gold jumpholefinder_gold

combat_expert_bronze rpgchar urgestein_bronze financial_supporter



Playtime: 1734h
Webmissions: 407


Beiträge: 4982

Beitrag Titel:
Verfasst am: 19.05.09 23:23
Antworten mit ZitatNach oben

The files in my documents/my games/freelancer are checked by startup of FL and we be created if they are not avabible.
But it should be possible to change the dictionary by an simple hex-edit

*brb locking for it* Mr. Green

Edit: its not so easy, i´ll try some things later

_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
Wieso baut man Mauern ohne Türen?
Syd is offline Benutzer-Profile anzeigenPrivate Nachricht senden
Draccoz







Beiträge: 41

Beitrag Titel:
Verfasst am: 20.05.09 06:04
Antworten mit ZitatNach oben

Maybe we could do that with a tricky program. Something like "Portable launcher" that would create reg entries and files in my docs, after shutting down it will remove them. But best would be to find a way not to trash machine if it's for example at work Razz.
Draccoz is offline Benutzer-Profile anzeigenPrivate Nachricht senden
Lasse Blutströmen



financial_supporter kreuz_bronze

Webmissions: 2


Beiträge: 2626
Wohnort: vorm Puter

Beitrag Titel:
Verfasst am: 20.05.09 08:08
Antworten mit ZitatNach oben

It's possible that way, but you also have to take care of the fonts as well.

_________________
My game is CLEAN.
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
Lasse Blutströmen is offline Benutzer-Profile anzeigenPrivate Nachricht senden
F7
Sector Admiral


financial_expert_gold time_bandit_gold basefinder_gold jumpholefinder_gold

combat_expert_gold rpgchar hcl_donation_gold

Playtime: 3595h
Webmissions: 174


Beiträge: 572

Beitrag Titel:
Verfasst am: 20.05.09 08:25
Antworten mit ZitatNach oben

Best way is to use hands by removing files in "my documents" manually and rewriting regkey with empty one. Special program for this not worth the effort imo - process is too easy and don't take much time.

_________________
It is important to remember that anyone who has accomplished more than you has no life and anyone who has accomplished less is a noob. ©

Orkses never lose a battle. If we win we win, if we die we die fightin so it don't count. If we runs for it we don't die neither, cos we can come back for annuver go, see!
F7 is offline Benutzer-Profile anzeigenPrivate Nachricht senden
Draccoz







Beiträge: 41

Beitrag Titel:
Verfasst am: 20.05.09 08:53
Antworten mit ZitatNach oben

Yes, but you still have to remove files and regs Razz. This would automate the process. You click "Run Freelancer", files are automatically copied to my docs and regs are written. When you quit freelancer, program notice it and removes reg (writing to own settings what id was used before removing it from regs) and does the same with files in my docs, so if you changed settings or id while playing, you will have the exact settings next time you run fl . Anyway, if nobody finds a better solution I can start writing this program and will report if I made fl portable or not Razz.
Draccoz is offline Benutzer-Profile anzeigenPrivate Nachricht senden
Eluveitie[X]







Beiträge: 31

Beitrag Titel:
Verfasst am: 20.05.09 09:05
Antworten mit ZitatNach oben

The files in My Documents mostly keep the game settings ( key bindings , performance settings , etc. )

So will it be possible to make an option so that the one that's gonna make the portable version could copy his own files from my documents , so he won't have to re-do the settings ?
Eluveitie[X] is offline Benutzer-Profile anzeigenPrivate Nachricht senden
Lasse Blutströmen



financial_supporter kreuz_bronze

Webmissions: 2


Beiträge: 2626
Wohnort: vorm Puter

Beitrag Titel:
Verfasst am: 20.05.09 09:16
Antworten mit ZitatNach oben

Paths to the My Documents folder differ from XP to Vista, so this has got to be considered, too. There might be a variable like
Code:
@MyDocumentsDir
in AutoIt, which always points to the correct folder, no matter if Vista or XP is used. This greatly helps coding. And don't forget about the screenshots.
Code:
RegDelete
I think it's obvious what this does, as well as
Code:
RegWrite


Fonts however need special treatment. Not only do they have to be copied into the Fonts folder of your Windows installation, they also have to be registered with the system.

_________________
My game is CLEAN.
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
Lasse Blutströmen is offline Benutzer-Profile anzeigenPrivate Nachricht senden
Gudrun
Captain


financial_expert_silber time_bandit_gold rpgchar hcl_std_gold

urgestein_silber

Playtime: 7271h
Webmissions: 13


Beiträge: 800

Beitrag Titel:
Verfasst am: 20.05.09 10:25
Antworten mit ZitatNach oben

I dont understand, where is problem? I copied FL to flash drive and I play from this flash on my work (but only single, there is no Internet). To save keys I copy to "MyDocuments/MyGame/FL " / files userkeyMap and PerfOptions. I think, for multiplayer standart procedure of copy registry keys will work.
Enough to run FL first time on any pc ("new game") and FL will create all files in My Documents.
Gudrun is offline Benutzer-Profile anzeigenPrivate Nachricht sendenWebsite dieses Benutzers besuchen
Draccoz







Beiträge: 41

Beitrag Titel:
Verfasst am: 20.05.09 10:51
Antworten mit ZitatNach oben

@Eluveitie[X]
This is what i was talking about Razz. Save all files and restore them and keep all changes .

@Lasse Blutströmen
Autohotkey is nicer then Autoit, though it has same functions I think Razz. Anyway I know perfectly what you're talking about. I've been programming in AH for over a year now Razz.

About fonts, I'll look into it more closely and find an easy way to do this .

@Gudrun
Yes it is possible to just copy FL and play, but you have to set everything over and over again Razz. Beside if you don't delete your files boss might get mad you play instead of working xD. Also it's not good to leave your ID in someone else registry ^^.
Draccoz is offline Benutzer-Profile anzeigenPrivate Nachricht senden
Lasse Blutströmen



financial_supporter kreuz_bronze

Webmissions: 2


Beiträge: 2626
Wohnort: vorm Puter

Beitrag Titel:
Verfasst am: 20.05.09 11:00
Antworten mit ZitatNach oben

Yeah, AutoHotkey does have some unique features, but I like AutoIt's syntax.

_________________
My game is CLEAN.
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
Lasse Blutströmen is offline Benutzer-Profile anzeigenPrivate Nachricht senden
NIGHT_CRAWLER
Petty Officer


financial_expert_bronze rpgchar

Playtime: 186h
Webmissions: 17


Beiträge: 25

Beitrag Titel:
Verfasst am: 20.05.09 13:33
Antworten mit ZitatNach oben

Would be a cool idea, just to be able to stick ya usb in on any computer and play
NIGHT_CRAWLER is offline Benutzer-Profile anzeigenPrivate Nachricht sendenMSN Messenger
Gudrun
Captain


financial_expert_silber time_bandit_gold rpgchar hcl_std_gold

urgestein_silber

Playtime: 7271h
Webmissions: 13


Beiträge: 800

Beitrag Titel:
Verfasst am: 20.05.09 17:44
Antworten mit ZitatNach oben

Draccoz hat folgendes geschrieben:
@Eluveitie[X]



@Gudrun
Yes it is possible to just copy FL and play, but you have to set everything over and over again Razz. Beside if you don't delete your files boss might get mad you play instead of working xD. Also it's not good to leave your ID in someone else registry ^^.


I told you- my boss dont know about my game coz I have FL only on flash (and I play only at night duty). And she doesnt look at MyDocuments. No need to install files every time, they saved in MyDoc, and no one can use your ID coz no one have FL installed
Or, anyway, you can re-write ID for empty one every time when you finished game.
Gudrun is offline Benutzer-Profile anzeigenPrivate Nachricht sendenWebsite dieses Benutzers besuchen
Draccoz







Beiträge: 41

Beitrag Titel:
Verfasst am: 21.05.09 07:16
Antworten mit ZitatNach oben

But other people bosses could check My Docs and get mad for "unknown" files Razz.
Also you just said you could rewrite ID for empty one after you finish, so this is the part of what program would do Razz. I could implement few profiles in it (different settings profile for different pc), coz different mouses and hardware could act differently with the same settings. Also nice ID manager and "clean my tray" option to remove all registry entries and files in my docs, so if you don't want you don't have to remove files, and if you do want it you can just check 1 option . This could be different setting for each profile, so on own pc you can leave your files and at work you can remove them. I should start working on it today after i finish ishop for one company.
Draccoz is offline Benutzer-Profile anzeigenPrivate Nachricht senden
Gudrun
Captain


financial_expert_silber time_bandit_gold rpgchar hcl_std_gold

urgestein_silber

Playtime: 7271h
Webmissions: 13


Beiträge: 800

Beitrag Titel:
Verfasst am: 21.05.09 11:19
Antworten mit ZitatNach oben

One notice- this programme will be good for players who want to play from Internet caffe with purpose to get rid of IP ban
Gudrun is offline Benutzer-Profile anzeigenPrivate Nachricht sendenWebsite dieses Benutzers besuchen
NANO
Fleet Captain


financial_expert_silber time_bandit_bronze basefinder_gold jumpholefinder_gold

rpgchar

Playtime: 1906h
Webmissions: 263


Beiträge: 745
Wohnort: Bielefeld

Beitrag Titel:
Verfasst am: 21.05.09 11:36
Antworten mit ZitatNach oben

Gudrun hat folgendes geschrieben:
One notice- this programme will be good for players who want to play from Internet caffe with purpose to get rid of IP ban

Still have to make new IDs and Ships...perhaps a bit expensive Very Happy

mfg NANO

_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
NANO is offline Benutzer-Profile anzeigenPrivate Nachricht senden
Draccoz







Beiträge: 41

Beitrag Titel:
Verfasst am: 21.05.09 12:07
Antworten mit ZitatNach oben

Gudrun, there is nothing like IP ban in Poland . Most providers give dynamic IP and for solid IP you even have to pay more XD. Beside I think everywhere even if you have statis IP you can call you ISP and order IP change. It should be free in most cases but maybe some provider takes a little fee. This is not to help banned people, I got this idea while making my portable system (hell of a lot of programs on 1 micro sd Razz)
Draccoz is offline Benutzer-Profile anzeigenPrivate Nachricht senden
Feelmypain
Corporal


financial_expert_bronze

Playtime: 95h


Beiträge: 3

Beitrag Titel:
Verfasst am: 22.05.09 08:08
Antworten mit ZitatNach oben

To make portable games , use THINAPP

it's quite easy and powerfull
Feelmypain is offline Benutzer-Profile anzeigenPrivate Nachricht senden
Draccoz







Beiträge: 41

Beitrag Titel:
Verfasst am: 22.05.09 08:26
Antworten mit ZitatNach oben

Thanks Very Happy. Will look into it more closely. Although I'm afraid that with this thingy you wont be able to change your ID. Anyway, I'll give it a try .
Draccoz is offline Benutzer-Profile anzeigenPrivate Nachricht senden
Lasse Blutströmen



financial_supporter kreuz_bronze

Webmissions: 2


Beiträge: 2626
Wohnort: vorm Puter

Beitrag Titel:
Verfasst am: 22.05.09 08:47
Antworten mit ZitatNach oben

Have my issues with Altiris SVS. It didn't work with mounted partitions, it didn't work with 64bit Windows versions. If ThinApp can, it's a deal.

:Edit
Ouch, license is 8.000,- USD.

_________________
My game is CLEAN.
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
Lasse Blutströmen is offline Benutzer-Profile anzeigenPrivate Nachricht senden
Eluveitie[X]







Beiträge: 31

Beitrag Titel:
Verfasst am: 22.05.09 09:43
Antworten mit ZitatNach oben

Lasse Blutströmen hat folgendes geschrieben:
:Edit
Ouch, license is 8.000,- USD.


Well if you're willing to run over some ethics I can PM you a link for it Razz
Eluveitie[X] is offline Benutzer-Profile anzeigenPrivate Nachricht senden
Draccoz







Beiträge: 41

Beitrag Titel:
Verfasst am: 22.05.09 10:15
Antworten mit ZitatNach oben

it's 60 days trial, you can make a lot games portable in that time Razz.
Draccoz is offline Benutzer-Profile anzeigenPrivate Nachricht senden
Lasse Blutströmen



financial_supporter kreuz_bronze

Webmissions: 2


Beiträge: 2626
Wohnort: vorm Puter

Beitrag Titel:
Verfasst am: 22.05.09 13:04
Antworten mit ZitatNach oben

Thanks, but I'm going to check out the trial. I've read somewhere that the best way to make applications portable is by installing ThinApp into a VM, then install the application using ThinApp. I can make a copy of my VM before installing ThinApp, so it should be possible to extend the trial period as often as needed. This might not be how VMWare intends it to be run, but on the other hand it's according to their own suggestion, if memory serves.

_________________
My game is CLEAN.
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
Lasse Blutströmen is offline Benutzer-Profile anzeigenPrivate Nachricht senden
Feelmypain
Corporal


financial_expert_bronze

Playtime: 95h


Beiträge: 3

Beitrag Titel:
Verfasst am: 22.05.09 14:24
Antworten mit ZitatNach oben

wanna a safe cracked link ? :p
Feelmypain is offline Benutzer-Profile anzeigenPrivate Nachricht senden
Feelmypain
Corporal


financial_expert_bronze

Playtime: 95h


Beiträge: 3

Beitrag Titel:
Verfasst am: 22.05.09 14:25
Antworten mit ZitatNach oben

wanna a safe cracked link ? :p
Feelmypain is offline Benutzer-Profile anzeigenPrivate Nachricht senden
Beiträge der letzten Zeit anzeigen:      
Neues Thema eröffnenNeue Antwort erstellen


 Gehe zu:   



Nächstes Thema anzeigen
Vorheriges Thema anzeigen
Du kannst keine Beiträge in dieses Forum schreiben.
Du kannst auf Beiträge in diesem Forum nicht antworten.
Du kannst deine Beiträge in diesem Forum nicht bearbeiten.
Du kannst deine Beiträge in diesem Forum nicht löschen.
Du kannst an Umfragen in diesem Forum nicht mitmachen.


 



Da wo Pfeffer wächst
Last 10 Deaths


Google





   
  8 users on website
powered by 230 volt, phpBB with modifications by Niwo. Alle Zeiten sind GMT + 1 Stunde
This page has been viewed 221255978 times.
Servertime: 13:59:57 Current server uptime: 267 days, 0 users, load average: 0.00, 0.00, Server Disk Space free: 23157 MB


Spendenkontostand / donating account balance
Page generation time: 0.4562s (PHP: 88% - SQL: 12%) - SQL queries: 20 - GZIP disabled - Debug off